You are here: Sri Vaishnava > Sacred Texts > Divya Prabandham

The Divya Prabandham

The Divya Prabandham is the collective corpus of the passionate hymns of the Alvar mystics (5th-8th centuries A.D.). It was the scholar-saint Nathamuni who, in the 10th century, retrieved and compiled this bhakti treasure which is the pride of Tamil classical literature. The Sri Vaishnava guru parampara (inheritance order of the preceptors) is held to commence from Lord Sri Narayana himself, and to centre, rightly so, around Sri Nathamuni and his grandson Sri Yamuna. The Alvars represented all the caste-groups of the society and their works enjoy the status of "dravida" or Tamil Veda, on par with the "girvaana" Veda in pre-Panini Sanskrit. The Divya Prabandham is in the form of adoration of the deities of 108 temples (divya desams) situated in different parts of the country, and employs every form of poetics (aNi) and prosody (chandam) available in Tamil.

The version presented here was typed in by a small group of volunteers in 1994. To download the entire collection of poems, click here for the DOS version (zipped) or here for the Unix version (tarred and gzipped).


  1. periyaazhvaar thirumozhi
  2. First Century (including the thiruppallaaNdu)
  3. Second Century
  4. Third Century
  5. Fourth Century
  6. Fifth Century
  7. thiruppaavai
  8. naachhiyaar thirumozhi
  9. perumaaL thirumozhi
  10. thirucchanda viruttham
  11. thirumaalai
  12. thiruppaLLiyezucchi
  13. amalanaathipiraan
  14. kaNNi nuN sirutthaambu


  15. periya thirumozhi
  16. First Century
  17. Second Century
  18. Third Century
  19. Fourth Century
  20. Fifth Century
  21. Six Century
  22. Seventh Century
  23. Eighth Century
  24. Ninth Century
  25. Tenth Century
  26. Eleventh Century
  27. thiru kurun thaaNdagam
  28. thiru nedun thaaNdagam


  29. thiruvaaymozhi
  30. First Century
  31. Second Century
  32. Third Century
  33. Fourth Century
  34. Fifth Century
  35. Six Century
  36. Seventh Century
  37. Eighth Century
  38. Ninth Century
  39. Tenth Century

  40. IYARPA

  41. mudhal thiruvanthaathi
  42. iraNdaam thiruvanthaathi
  43. moonRaam thiruvanthaathi
  44. naanmugan thiruvanthaathi
  45. thiruviruttham
  46. thiruvaasiriyam
  47. periya thiruvanthaathi
  48. thiru ezukooRRirukkai
  49. siRiya thirumadal
  50. periya thirumadal
  51. iraamaanusa nURRanthaathi [Text]

Related Poems

  • Sri Vedanta Desika's prabandha saaram
  • Sri ManavaaLa Maamuni's thiruvaaymozhi nURRanthaathi
  • Desika Prabandham

  • Back to the Sri Vaishnava Home Page

    Add/View comments on this page.

    Mani Varadarajan
    Last modified: Fri Dec 17 17:44:50 PST